Keep fighting the good fight

In 1999 I added a title, a label to my list of daughter, sister, mom, aunt, and friend. I added soccer mom. It was spring of 1999 when I was along for the purchase of the first set of cleats, shin guards, and soccer socks. I did not yet realize I needed an entire extra bag in the car for all of the other items not listed on any “gear needed list”.

It was a cold, drizzly day in early April 1999 when I bundled up the littlest at just about 6 weeks old to head to the first of many, many, many soccer practices for her big sister. At just 6 years old we were heading down a path that would include household names of Hamm, Chastain, Foudy, Scurry, Rampone. Back then we could only “watch” them play if we went somewhere that had cable sports. That 6 year old mid-fielder in the making was consuming everything she could about soccer.

I vividly remember the first time a pair of “boots” cost more than $100! I can still hear myself saving, you have got to be kidding me, $100 to smell that bad in just a few hours? No, just no. For the record those “boots” came home & were some of the longest lasting cleats she owned. I also recall many afternoons when the following conversation would take place:

MOM!! We have to run to Dick’s before practice!! We do not have time to go to Dick’s, what in the world do you need right now anyway? Gah! We have to, I need pre-wrap, I’m out of (insert a wide array of color options here). The cost of soccer cleats is only rivaled by the cost of pre-wrap, never used as actual injury pre-wrap under a tapped ankle or knee. Oh no, pre-wrap always for the hair, the headband of choice. If only it would have helped in the concussion department….

Weeknights & weekends were now scheduled around practices, matches, and team outings. We all gained friendships through the sport. We observed some really horrible sportsmanship by parents, coaches, and players. We observed relationships being formed, time management being learned, following instructions, and respecting others all playing out on each field. As the fields and teams got bigger, so did the feelings.

I remember watching the 1999 Women’s World Cup match for the very first time, with my very, very excited 6 year old. She was riveted by the pace, the fierceness and the teamwork. Thus began our soccer following. I remember the “controversy” that followed because, “gasp! Brandi Chastain ripped her jersey off in celebration.” Today, with my now 26 year old retired soccer player, we watched the 2019 team bring home the win, the 4th win for USA Women’s Soccer. We will now watch for days, likely weeks to come as this team will be picked apart for “their over the top celebrations.” Celebrate away ladies, you have earned every single one of them.

To the haters, I hope you are as outspoken when you see men in other sports grabbing their crotches & flexing their muscles in celebration of each touchdown, basket, goal, putt, catch, the list is endless. While you are all whining about sportsmanship & how “disgraceful” these “women” are, let’s talk about the domestic abuse and violence that is prevalent in most male professional sports. Oh, wait, is that crickets I hear? Yeah, thought so…

It’s okay, most of us are use to being “shh’ed” for speaking our minds, sharing our thoughts, and opinions. The difference in 2019, it is our responsibility to speak those truths, to continue the work those before began to blaze. I am of the generation whose father was boo’d for being a veteran. I am of the generation who realized that we are more than our past, bad decisions, and circumstance. I am of the generation that are raising our daughters and sons to speak up, speak out, live your truth and don’t be pushed around. I am of the generation that hopes to be the adult to look up, to be who we needed to see.

Several of the women playing in today’s final game are between the ages of both of my girls. I could be their mom. So for all of the retired soccer moms out there that adopt the next generation of girls I salute you! To all the retired sports moms out there, I urge you to stay active, find the next young lady that needs an extra boost. We all need the village, we need to continue to fight the good fight and teach our girls to play like a girl. It means you are a champion in your own life.

Thank you to the 1999 Women’s Team for lighting the fire in our house and to all the teams in between for keeping the fire alive. Each of you is a role model and this retired soccer mom is very proud of all of you.

 

Leave a comment